Adventures in quilting

I’ve recently started quilting, which is a huge learning curve.  I am particularly interested in free motion quilting; it is so much fun! I love the way that light plays with the finished article and how flowing and beautiful the lines can be.

For this quilt I bought a jelly roll which contained dark blue, light blue, green, yellow and pink strips.  I sewed up four big rectangles in rough colour families, one dark blue with a bit of green, one light blue with a bit of green, one yellow and one pink.  I then looked at what I had and it was really busy.  I looked around for jelly roll quilts and found this from Stitchery Dickory Dock and loved it! I cut my rectangles into 8 squares and put four of the squares aside. I then bought some cream fabric with little leaves on it and cut it into huge squares the same size as my jelly roll squares. I then made this into half square triangles by placing one of my cream squares and one of my jelly roll squares right sides together, then stitching a 1/4 inch seam around the outside of the whole square, a cross across the middle from corner to corner with two rows of stitching, and another cross with two rows of stitching cutting the big square into 4 little squares.  Essentially, I made 8 HST like in this Craftsy tutorial but then because I also had sewed along the outside of the big square I could then cut these 8 little squares into 16 even smaller squares.   Did I mention it was an ugly way to do things??

The resulting HSTs were a bit wobbly, which was not surprising considering the amount of cutting and stitching that they had undergone.  I trimmed them up to 6″ squares then had a bit of a play with arranging them.  Because of the way I’d gone about constructing them you could actually make some pretty interesting patterns with them.

 

 

But after a lot of playing around I thought  it easiest and most effective to put them all the same way, like this

IMG_8180

Gotta love a rainbow. 🙂

I stitched it all together (not 100% like my original layout, but good enough), then basted the quilt

IMG_8252

And then for the free motion quilting!

The free motion pattern I’ve used is from Lori Kennedy at The Inbox Jaunt and is called “Dizzy Daisy”.  I absolutely love it!  Her tutorials are amazing.

Still going with this, it is taking FOREVER but will be pretty once finished.  If I’d thought about it more (maybe a theme of under-planning here) I would have used a plain backing fabric to show off the design on the back.  Never mind, all part of the learning curve I guess. 🙂

And WOWSERS, quilting gloves are the BEST THING EVER. They make free motion quilting so much easier.  I have invested in some “Grab a Roo’s”.  They’re brilliant.

Leave a Reply

